Sunday, September 19, 2021
The Bookish Vegan Presents:

Peanut Veggie Stew inspired by The Black Kids

This stew is perfect for winter!


Blind Date Books have pushed recipes and reviews to the side a bit…but I wanted to get one in for the last day of January! I’ve had a lot of people ask about this recipe so I’m excited to share it along with my thoughts on the book.

Genre: YA (historical)

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed was incredibly powerful and educational. There are many topics being discussed in the book, such as history, coming-of-age, race, class, violence and ultimately, the story of 17 year old Ashely Bennett discovering her place in the world, pushing herself, and fighting for the ones she loves. This book took my breath away and I recommend adding it to your TBR ASAP.

“Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.”

Recipe for Peanut Veggie Stew

I chose this recipe for the book because it’s a good one to share with people you love.

  • Serves: 6
  • Prep time: 15 mins
  • Cook time: 30 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 2 cups cauliflower florets
  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 2 heaping handfuls of spinach
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 8 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
  • 6 tablespoons creamy or crunchy peanut butter
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • In a large pot over medium heat, add the olive oil.
  • Add the onion and cook until translucent, about 5 mins.
  • Add the garlic and ginger. Mix for 30 seconds.
  • Add the cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, spinach, veggie stock, beans, tomatoes, and spices.
  • Bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce to a simmer for 20 minutes, or until veggies are cooked through.
  • Add the peanut butter and mix until it is completely dissolved. Add more seasonings if desired.
  • Serve with sriracha!
  • ISN’T THIS EASY?!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top